The Poetry of Yellowed Postcards ( de )

Weltkunst Contemporary, 2008-09

Dreams of cotton candy and invigorating arrows from the Tang dynasty. The stagings recorded in the photographs of Shanghai artist Ma Liang (b. 1972), who goes by the nom de plume of Maleonn, are taking us into a realm between times.

Is a photo still a photo when it has been overpainted with Indian ink? And: what tale is being told in the seven-part series Chinese Story? On a wooden pier in a picturesque lake scenery, there is a male figure standing, enshrouded in transparent plastic foil and armed with a bow, the image of a second one being superimposed. The phantasmagoric appearance has been hit in the back by numerous arrows though it seems unharmed. In streaks and smears, ink trickles over the black-and-white scene. “Everyone in China knows the story of the commander who, with darkness approaching, sends out boats manned by mock warriors in order to get the enemies to spend their arrows on them”, the artist explains. “And those arrows would later be used against that very enemy.” However, that would only be one of the narratives around this proud dream-like figure who in other sequences reappears with traditional Chinese hand puppets or in a forest of bamboos. The strong appeal of these images, which have been reprocessed several times both on the computer and by hand, is at work long before any explanation has been given.

Chinese Stage Esthetics and the Cinema of Theo Angelopoulos

Soon after the first cameras were available in the unofficial Chinese art scene at the end of the 1970s, artists made use of this medium to document their performances. In this way, they were putting on show their desire for freedom and individual creative space, often with quite drastic means of self-dramatization. There was not much room for ambiguities or even an atmosphere of poetry in this context. Instead those movies and photos show things like artists eating soap until they vomit, hanging about in public toilets buzzing with flies, or placing themselves on blocks of ice so as to provoke their own death from freezing.

For Maleonn, the Cultural Revolution and the heavy repressions that his older colleagues were faced with belong to the past. In 2004, he quit being a commercial filmmaker and turned to the liberal arts. It is this background which explains his sensitivity for staging and presentation. He is unmistakably influenced by Chinese tradition, but also by Western ideals, as the artist himself acknowledges. However, these are not the popular stars of the movie and art world but rather the dilapidated ambience that you find in the works of Czech nude photographer Jan Saudek, the lonesome heroes of Greek cinema director Theo Angelopoulos, or by the nightmarish panopticum of midgets, hermaphrodites and freaks that New York photographer Joel Peter Witkin conjures up in his works.

Maleonn’s protagonists are captured in quite distinct poses that they take up in settings orchestrated to the smallest detail. The symbol-laden face painting, the emotive gestures and the sumptuous costumes he uses in his works are clearly inspired by Chinese stage plays and the Beijing opera. “My father was a director at a theater in Shanghai”, he says, “and my mother was an actress. I grew up in this artificial world.”

In his first picture story, My Circus (2004), Maleonn places garishly made-up and disguised characters into gloomy backyards. By manual recoloration the photographs take on the yellowed, washed-out tone of old postcards. In Days on the Cotton Candy (2006) girls in baroque frills and Western-style teased hairdos amuse themselves in bathrooms, all wound up and exalted into unadulterated kitsch. Candyfloss gushes out of a vacuum cleaner in amorphous clouds, sometimes shaping itself to be the male playmate of those femmes fatales who are virtually brimming with cockiness. “In the China of my childhood, cotton candy was one of those fantasies that would sometimes even come true”, the artist remembers. “A spoonful of sugar was enough to create happiness. The affluence of today can hardly compete with the intensity of that little pleasure.” Days on the Cotton Candy are characterized by both melancholia and affluenza hysterics.

Also the most recent photo stories from 2008 distinguish themselves by a general atmosphere that is both bizarre and full of nostalgia. With touching ingenuousness the title heroes of Little Flagman and Postman hang on to their idealism even in situations that offer little consolation and in sceneries shaped by decay. Thus even behind the bars of the cage that restricts his freedom the commander with the clownish makeup waves the green and not the red flag. And a sentimental letter carrier works his way through the scenario of a nameless crumbling city.

Incantations with an Ironic Twist

On his website Maleonn gives each series of pictures a preface of a few lines. Sometimes these are poems of the Chinese classics, sometimes observations of his own. “To my favorite poet Beidao” (1) is the concluding dedication of eight melancholic lines that look back on childhood promises and how one strives to remain true to them even in adult age. The corresponding twelve photographs of “Unforgivable Children” (2005) show young men wearing white masks in a storm of blank white papers and in scenes of child’s play, surrounded by buildings in ruins or standing in a heart shape of white paint on a concrete pathway. Maleonn’s reverence for the internationally renowned poet Bei Dao is also reflected in the preface to “Chinese Story”. Just as Bei Dao’s metaphor-laden language often eludes easy interpretation, Maleonn’s comments are quite challenging to the readers as well. In rather cryptic words we read,

Our plastic laminated Chinese identity card,
And all our borrowed impotent power. (2)

With a hardly less ironic undertone, Maleonn turns his attention to the Olympic Games of Athens 2004. Filmmaker Zhang Yimou, well known in the West as well, at least since his motion picture Hero, had contributed a performance for the closing ceremony. Taking into account the spectacular though somewhat showy period dramas that Zhang Yimou had made in the previous years, it is easy to draw the connection to the tragic hero of Chinese Story. Thus in Maleonn’s photo series the commander and his troops appropriate the enemies’ arrows to put them to rout. But while this is a tactical ploy and ultimately an act of self-protection, Maleonn denounces the internalized outside perspective on one’s own culture, which he perceives in a number of his artistic colleagues, as a debasement of Chinese tradition for the mere sake of entertainment, and therefore as the first step towards a loss of identity. Another critical side remark attacks those artists who—pandering to the Western audience—are presenting only the dark sides of Chinese culture. Instead of a modernizing perspective on national tradition, including a coming to terms with some rather traumatic chapters in China’s history, he sees a grandstanding self-exotification which is nothing but cliché and claptrap.

In the last lines of the commentary to Chinese Story, Maleonn addresses the ancestral spirits with elegiac pathos, requesting their support in resisting to the contemporary seductions.

“But I'm begging you, my once great and romantic motherland
To give me the endless power of dissent and transgression.”

For the Western reader this ironically twisted patriotism may sound somewhat strange. In China, however, it is not at all that rare for intellectuals or artists to be invoking the heyday of the Tang dynasty (618-907 A.D.) or even quoting some lines of poetry from that time to criticize present-day conditions. While in Chinese Story, the plastic wrapping of the protagonist visualized a state of self-estrangement and the failure to experience nature in a more symbiotic manner, in Second-hand Tang Poem (2007) already the title chosen by Maleonn indicates the loss of authenticity in today’s China.

History—which is perceived as a continuum of three to five thousand years by the Chinese—offers points of reference to the individual even today. For China’s artists and intellectuals the Tang era is a particularly important period to be quoted, as during that time the empire was characterized by the very high esteem it placed upon art and poetry and also kept up an active exchange in culture, religion and science with other continents. Maleonn emphasizes the rupture that contemporary China has made with the strong points of national consciousness by assigning a “second-hand character” to his country and identifying the present with “this plastic age”.

Maleonn knows he is in good company in China’s art world. For ever since the international success of contemporary Chinese art, the creative scene has been clearly divided into two groups. While some take their artistic bearings from nothing but the frantic shopping frenzy of the West—and, increasingly, also the East—others are using the freedom and creative license of art to promote a way of living in their home country which takes a firm stand on China’s rapidly changing society. Looking back forward, as it were, they are insisting on the immense potential of their culture that threatens to sink into oblivion in the current deliriousness with progress and development, but it is with similar urgency that they also demand international dialogue. The list of Maleonn’s solo and group exhibitions both in China and abroad reads like a success story—and one that implies success apart from the mainstream.


1 Bei Dao (the pseudonym of Zhao Zhenkai), born in Beijing in 1949, poet and storyteller. After the bloody repression of the Tiananmen Square protests of June 1989, Bei Dao did not return to China from a journey to Europe for fear of reprisals. He lives in exile in the USA even today.

2 Maleonn’s annotation to Chinese Story says:

Our plastic laminated Chinese identity card, And all our borrowed impotent power.

--I swear by my plastic laminated Chinese identity card, which is given by this plastic age: all my works are as original as the 8 minutes on the Olympics Night directed by Zhang Yimou, as innocent as the 12 female band, and as profound and great as all those artists who are famous for expressing the misery and numbness of the Chinese nation.

But I'm begging you, my once great and romantic motherland

To give me the endless power of dissent and transgression.


Website of the artist Maleonn

First published: Weltkunst

Translation: Werner Richter

Die Poesie vergilbter Postkarten ( en )

Weltkunst Contemporary, 2008-09

Zuckerwattenträume und stärkende Pfeile aus der Tang-Dynastie. Die fotografisch festgehaltenen Inszenierungen des Schanghaier Künstlers Ma Liang (geb. 1972), mit Künstlernamen Maleonn, führen in eine Sphäre zwischen den Zeiten.

Ist eine Fotografie noch eine Fotografie, wenn sie mit Tusche übermalt wurde? Und: Welche Geschichte wird in der 7-teiligen Serie Chinese Story erzählt? In einer idyllischen Seelandschaft auf einem Holzsteg steht eine männliche Gestalt in durchsichtige Plastikfolie gehüllt und mit einem Bogen bewaffnet, ein zweiter Bogen ist ins Bild geblendet. Den Rücken der fantastischen Erscheinung haben zahlreiche Pfeile getroffen, doch sie scheint unversehrt. Brüchig und schlierig läuft Tusche über die in schwarz-weiß gehaltene Szenerie. „In China kennt jeder die Geschichte von dem Feldherrn, der in der nahenden Dunkelheit Krieger-Attrappen mit Booten aufs Meer schickt, um die Feinde dazu zu bringen, mit Pfeilen auf sie zu schießen“, erläutert der Künstler. „Diese Pfeile werden anschließend wiederum gegen die Angreifer eingesetzt.“ Das wäre aber nur einer der Erzählstränge um die stolze Traumgestalt, die in anderen Sequenzen mit traditionellen chinesischen Handpuppen oder in einem Bambuswald wieder auftaucht. Die Faszination dieser mehrfach am Computer und mit der Hand nachbearbeiteten Bilder wirkt lange vor jeder Erläuterung.

Chinesische Theater-Ästhetik und die Filme von Theo Angelopoulos

Kaum kursierten nach der Öffnung des Landes Ende der 1970er Jahre die ersten Fotoapparate und Kameras in der inoffiziellen chinesischen Kunstszene, nutzten Künstler diese Medien, um ihre Performances zu dokumentieren. Mit oftmals drastischen Mitteln der Selbstinszenierung setzten sie ihren Drang nach Freiheit und individuellem Gestaltungsspielraum in Szene. Für Andeutungen, Mehrdeutigkeiten oder gar eine poetische Atmosphäre war da kein Spielraum. Stattdessen zeigen die Filme und Bilder Künstler, die bis zum Erbrechen Seife essen, von Fliegen übersäht in einer öffentlichen Toilette ausharren oder sich auf Eisblöcke legen, um den eigenen Erfrierungstod zu provozieren.

Für Maleonn gehören die Kulturrevolution und die starken Repressionen, denen seine älteren Künstlerkollegen ausgesetzt waren, der Vergangenheit an. 2004 quittierte er seine Arbeit als kommerzieller Filmemacher und wendete sich der freien Kunst zu. Vor diesem Hintergrund erklärt sich sein Gespür für die szenische Inszenierung. Unübersehbar ist der Einfluss der chinesischen Tradition. Doch auch westliche Vorbilder hätten ihn geprägt, so der Künstler. Nicht aber etwa aktuelle Stars aus Film- und Kunstwelt, eher schon das Verfallsambiente in den Arbeiten des tschechischen Aktfotografen Jan Saudek, die einsamen Helden des griechischen Film-Regisseurs Theo Angelopoulos und das beklemmende Panoptikum der Zwergwüchsigen, Hermaphroditen und Deformierten des New Yorker Fotografen Joel Peter Witkin.

Bis ins kleinste Detail durchgestaltet sind die Kulissen, in denen Maleonns Akteure in einer bestimmten Pose ins Bild gebannt werden. Die opulenten Kostüme, die symbolträchtigen Gesten und die bedeutungsschwer geschminkten Gesichter in seinen Arbeiten sind dabei eindeutig vom chinesischen Theater und von der Peking-Oper inspiriert. „Mein Vater war Direktor an einem Theater in Schanghai“, erzählt er, „meine Mutter Schauspielerin. Ich wuchs in dieser Kunstwelt auf.“

In seiner ersten Bildergeschichte My Circus (2004) versetzt Maleonn grell geschminkte und verkleidete Gestalten in triste Hinterhöfe. Durch farbliche Nachbearbeitung erlangen die Fotos den vergilbten, verwaschenen Ton alter Postkarten. Überdreht und bis zum Kitsch gesteigert, vergnügen sich in Days on the Cotton Candy (2006) Mädchen in barock-rüschigen Kleidern und westlich toupierter Haarpracht. Wolkenähnlich quillt Watte aus einem Staubsauger oder formiert sich zum männlichen Gespielen der vor Übermut strotzenden Femmes fatales. „Im China meiner Kindheit“, erinnert sich der Künstler, „gehörte Zuckerwatte zu den Sehnsüchten, die manchmal sogar erfüllt wurden. Zum Glück reichte ein Löffel Zucker. Der Überfluss von heute kann die Intensität dieser Freude kaum überbieten.“ Melancholie und Wohlstandshysterie finden in Days on the Cotton Candy gleichzeitig statt.

Auch die 2008 entstanden Bilderzählungen sind geprägt von einer fantastischen und gleichzeitig nostalgischen Grundstimmung. Anrührend naiv bewahren sich die titelgebenden Helden von Little Flagman und Postman selbst in wenig tröstlichen Situationen und vom Verfall gezeichneten Umfeld ihren Idealismus. So winkt der clownesk-geschminkte Kommandant noch hinter den Gittern eines ihn der Freiheit beraubenden Käfigs mit der grünen und nicht mit der rote Fahne. Ein sentimentaler Postbote kämpft sich durch das Abrissszenario einer ungenannten Stadt.

Ironisch gebrochene Beschwörungsformeln

Auf seiner Website stellt Maleonn jeder Bildserie einige Zeilen voran. Mal sind es Gedichte chinesischer Klassiker, mal eigene Kommentare. „Meinem Lieblingsdichter Bei Dao (1) gewidmet“ untertitelt er den 8-zeiligen melancholischen Blick zurück auf die Schwüre der Kindheit und dem Ringen darum, ihnen auch in der Gegenwart treu zu bleiben. Die zugeordneten 12 Fotoarbeiten von Unforgivable Children (2005) zeigen junge Männer mit weißen Masken, in einem Sturm unbeschriebener weißer Blätter, in Szenen des kindlichen Spiels, umgeben von Gebäuderuinen oder inmitten eines mit weißer Farbe auf Beton gemalten Herzens. Maleonns Verehrung des international renommierten Dichters Bei Dao schlägt sich auch im Text zur Chinese Story nieder. Entzieht sich die metaphorisch aufgeladene Sprache Bei Daos oftmals einer eindeutigen Interpretation, so wird auch dem Leser von Maleonns Kommentaren einiges abverlangt. Kryptisch anmutend heißt es dort:

„Unser plastik-laminierter chinesischer Personalausweis,
Und all unsere geliehene, nutzlos gewordene Kraft.” (2)

Mit nicht weniger ironischem Unterton schwenkt Maleonn anschließend zu den Olympischen Spielen in Athen 2004. Der im Westen spätestens seit Hero bekannte Filmemacher Zhang Yimou hatte damals das Abschlussprogramm mitgestaltet. In Anbetracht der in den letzten Jahren entstandenen, prunkvoll ausgestatteten, aber recht plakativen Historienfilme von Zhang Yimou lässt sich die Verbindung zum tragischen Helden der Chinese Story spinnen. So waren es in Maleonns Fotoserie die Pfeile der Feinde, die sich der Feldherr und seine Truppen aneigneten, um den Gegner damit in die Flucht zu schlagen. Doch während diese Taktik letztendlich dem Selbstschutz diente, outet Maleonn die internalisierte Fremdperspektive auf die eigene Kultur, wie er sie bei einigen seiner Künstlerkollegen beobachtet, als Degradierung der chinesischen Tradition zur bloßen Unterhaltung und damit ersten Schritt zum Identitätsverlust. Ein weiterer kritischer Seitenhieb trifft jene, die, in Anbiederung an ein westliches Publikum, die Schattenseiten der chinesischen Kultur präsentieren. An die Stelle einer aktualisierenden Perspektive auf die eigenen Tradition und der Aufarbeitung von traumatisch besetzten Kapiteln der chinesischen Geschichte tritt somit eine effekthascherische Selbstexotisierung.

Mit beschwörendem Pathos richtet Maleonn sein Bittgesuch in den Schlusszeilen des Chinese Story-Kommentars an die Geister der Ahnen, um mit ihrer Unterstützung den zeitgenössischen Verführungen zu widerstehen:

„Ich bitte Dich, mein einst großes und idealistisches Vaterland,
gib mir die unversiegbare Kraft zu Widerspruch und Überschreitung.“

Für den westlichen Leser mag dieser ironisch gebrochene Patriotismus befremdlich klingen. Ist es in China doch keine Seltenheit, dass ein Intellektueller oder Künstler sich etwa auf die Blütezeit der Tang-Dynastie (618-907 n. Chr.) beruft oder einige Zeilen damaliger Dichtung zitiert, um die Zustände der Gegenwart zu kritisieren. War es in der Chinese Story die Plastik-Hülle des Akteurs, die einen Zustand der Selbstentfremdung und die Unfähigkeit zu einem symbiotischen Naturerleben visualisierte, so signalisiert Maleonn in Second-hand Tang Poem (2007) schon im Titel den Authentizitätsverlust im gegenwärtigen China.

Geschichte, für Chinesen als Kontinuum von drei- bis fünftausend Jahren wahrgenommen, bietet dem Einzelnen bis heute Anknüpfungspunkte. Für Chinas Intellektuelle und Künstler stellt die Tang-Zeit eine besonders wichtige Bezugsgröße dar, da sich das Reich der Mitte in dieser Periode durch eine große Wertschätzung von Kunst und Dichtung auszeichnete und einen regen Austausch mit Kultur, Religion und Wissenschaft anderer Kontinente pflegte. Maleonn unterstreicht den Bruch des heutigen China mit den Stärken des nationalen Selbstverständnis, indem er seinem Land einen ‚Second-Hand-Charakter’ zuschreibt und die Gegenwart als „Plastik-Zeitalter“ betitelt.

In Chinas Kunstszene weiß Maleonn sich in guter Gesellschaft. Denn spätestens seit dem internationalen Erfolg der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst teilen sich die Künstler des Landes in zwei Gruppen. Während die einen die blinde Kaufwut des Westens – zunehmend auch die des Ostens – zum Maßstab ihres künstlerischen Schaffens machen, nutzen die anderen den Freiraum der Kunst, um in ihrer Heimat eine Lebensform zu kultivieren, die kritisch Stellung bezieht zum rasanten Wandel der Gesellschaft. Im Blick zurück nach vorn pochen sie auf das Potential ihrer Kultur, das im Fortschrittstaumel in Vergessenheit zu geraten droht, fordern aber mit gleicher Vehemenz den internationalen Dialog. Die Liste von Maleonns Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in China und im Ausland liest sich als Erfolgsgeschichte – als Erfolg jenseits des Mainstreams.


1 Bei Dao (bürgerlicher Name Zhao Zhenkai), geboren 1949 in Peking, Lyriker und Erzähler. Nach der blutigen Niederschlagung der Demonstrationen auf dem Platz des Himmlischen Friedens im Juni 1989 kehrte Bei Dao – aus Angst vor Repressionen – von einer Europareise nicht nach Peking zurück. Er lebt bis heute im amerikanischen Exil.

2 Im Kommentar zur Chinese Story heißt es:

Our plastic laminated Chinese identity card, And all our borrowed impotent power.

--I swear by my plastic laminated Chinese identity card, which is given by this plastic age: all my works are as original as the 8 minutes on the Olympics Night directed by Zhang Yimou, as innocent as the 12 female band, and as profound and great as all those artists who are famous for expressing the misery and numbness of the Chinese nation.

But I'm begging you, my once great and romantic motherland

To give me the endless power of dissent and transgression.


Website des Künstlers Maleonn

Erstveröffentlichung: Weltkunst