?> Gonkar Gyatso. Outline of Buddha | Ulrike Münter

Gonkar Gyatso. Outline of Buddha ( de )

IN-SIGHT. Photography from the Wemhöner Collection, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Homeland and cultural identity are often important issues, particularly for those who risk losing both. Gonkar Gyatso (b. 1961, in Lhasa) studied traditional Chinese ink painting in Beijing before returning home to Tibet. After a stay in Dharamsala, India, he made his way to London and studied fine art there. Today he lives and works mainly in New York, but also works in London and Beijing. His sculptures, photographs and works on paper visualise his empathetic approach to different cultural spaces, not by fostering identification with any one space, but rather by allowing irreconcilable contradictions to remain visible.

By the time Gonkar Gyatso was born, the Dalai Lama and 100,000 other Tibetans had already been forced into exile in India. The sinicisation of Tibet shaped the lives of both the artist and his parents. Even if Gyatso explicitly rejects the labelling of his art as political, his four-part photo series My Identity (2003) attests to a biography circumscribed by limited freedom of choice.

While in the first photograph he portrays himself as a traditional Tibetan painter creating a devotional image of the Buddha, the second image depicts him as a Chinese propaganda artist. The third scene is set in a corrugated-iron hut, where both the Indian script on a crate and the Potala (the official residence and seat of government of the Dalai Lama in Lhasa) on a canvas on the wall unmistakeably refer to the Tibetan exile in Dharamsala. The final photograph in the series gives us a glimpse of Gyatso as he lives now, working on a highly abstract mandala.

Besides the obvious autobiographical echoes, My Identity also forges a link to Tibet’s past, as the artist uses a photograph dating from 1937 as a template for his scenes. The original image was taken by the commercial traveller C. Suydam Cutting of New York and shows one of the Dalai Lama’s artists at work.

To what extent is a Tibetan identity even imaginable in today’s world? Gyatso’s four-part silkscreen print entitled Shambala of the Modern Times (2009), presented at the 53rd Venice Biennale in 2009, provides a sobering answer. From a distance, the work depicts the gleaming outline of a Buddha; yet on closer inspection the inside of the head turns out to consist of Chinese-Tibetan characters, so tightly packed that they have become illegible. The aura of sanctity bursting out into the pictorial space is compiled of gaudy stickers, and snippets of text and advertising slogans – in other words, all the detritus of a globalised media world. While people used to find their ‘Shambala’ (a protected area or protective aura) in religion, faith and tradition, people in the modern world are faced with the task of having to repeatedly redefine these frames of reference at an individual level.


IN-SIGHT. Photography from the Wemhöner Collection, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Gonkar Gyatso

?> Gonkar Gyatso. Die Kontur des Buddha | Ulrike Münter

Gonkar Gyatso. Die Kontur des Buddha ( en )

IM BLICK. Fotografie aus der Sammlung Wemhöner, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Heimat und kulturelle Identität werden insbesondere für denjenigen zum Thema, der beides als gefährdet erlebt. Geboren 1961 in Tibets Hauptstadt, studiert Gonkar Gyatso zunächst in Peking traditionelle chinesische Tuschemalerei und kehrt dann nach Lhasa zurück. Über einen Aufenthalt im indischen Dharamsala führt ihn sein Weg nach London, wo er Freie Kunst studiert. Mittlerweile lebt und arbeitet Gyatso schwerpunktmäßig in New York, aber auch in London und Peking. Seine Skulpturen, Fotografien und Arbeiten auf Papier visualisieren diese Einfühlung in verschiedene Kulturräume nicht etwa als identitätsstiftend im singulären Sinne, vielmehr bleiben die unvereinbaren Gegensätze als solche sichtbar.

Als Gonkar Gyatso geboren wurde, befand sich der Dalai Lama bereits mit 100 000 geflohenen Tibetern im indischen Exil. Die Sinisierung Tibets prägte das Leben der Eltern und das des Künstlers. Auch wenn er sich ausdrücklich gegen die Titulierung seiner Kunst als politisch ausspricht, so bezeugt die vierteilige Fotoserie My Identity (2003) eine Vita, die er nur begrenzt frei wählte.

Während Gonkar Gyatso sich im ersten Bild von My Identity als traditionellen tibetischen Maler inszeniert, der eine Buddha-Devotionalie schafft, zeigt ihn das zweite als chinesischen Propagandamaler. Die dritte Szene ist in einer Wellblechhütte angesiedelt. Die indische Aufschrift auf einer Kiste und das Leinwandmotiv des Potala (offizielle Residenz und Regierungssitz des Dalai Lama in Lhasa) verweisen unmissverständlich auf das tibetische Exil in Dharamsala. Den Abschluss der Serie bildet der Blick in Gyatsos Gegenwart. Wir sehen ihn, wie er an einer stark abstrahierten Form eines Mandalas arbeitet.

Neben der unverkennbar autobiografischen Ebene stellt My Identity zudem den Bezug zu Tibets Vergangenheit her, indem sich der Künstler als Vorlage für seine Inszenierungen einer Fotografie aus dem Jahr 1937 bedient. Damals hatte der New Yorker Handelsreisende C. Suydam Cutting einen Maler des Dalai Lama bei der Arbeit porträtiert.

Inwiefern ist eine tibetische Identität in heutiger Zeit überhaupt noch vorstellbar? Der durch seine Präsentation auf der 53. Biennale di Venezia 2009 gezeigte vierteilige Siebdruck Shambala of the Modern Times (2009) gibt eine eher ernüchternde Antwort. Auch wenn aus der Weitsicht die Kontur eines Buddhas erstrahlt, so zeigt die nähere Betrachtung, dass die Innenfläche des Kopfes aus unlesbar gewordenen – weil zusammengefügten – chinesisch-tibetischen Schriftzeichen besteht. Poppige Sticker, Textschnipsel und Werbeslogans, kurz: Zeugnisse der globalisierten Medienwelt bilden die Aura der Heiligkeit und sprengen noch über diese hinaus in die Weite des Bildraumes. Boten Religion, Glaube und Tradition dem Menschen früher eine „Shambala“ (Schutzzone, Schutzaura), so sieht sich der moderne Mensch vor die Aufgabe gestellt, sich diesen Orientierungsrahmen individuell und immer wieder aufs Neue zu schaffen.


IM BLICK. Fotografie aus der Sammlung Wemhöner, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Gonkar Gyatso