Du Jie | The Never Ending Line ( de | cn )

Galerie Urs Meile Beijing - Lucerne, 2008-01-26 - 2008-03-29

“The fine tip of the brush is immersed in paint. I move the brush in effortless arcs, let it glide over the canvas, without any haste nor hesitation.” (Du Jie)

In a circuitous labyrinth, the line networks of Du Jie (born in Xiangfang, Hubei province, in 1968, now living in Beijing) trace themselves across the canvas. Looking more closely, we make out the brush mark, follow the paint lines starting out in saturation, getting thinner, until a new stroke begins, and so on. Without any visible effort, the color flows back to the origin of the painting process. And the undulation goes on endlessly.

Like diary sequences, Du Jie’s titles testify to the time span of their creation. Sometimes it takes the artist three weeks, sometimes four, to produce convolution by convolution of her 25 x 25 cm formats, which she has done since 2003. Whether black on white, or in a lighter and a darker blue, earthy hues or tones of springtime exhilaration, there is always an extreme precision of the brush stroke that has the new sweep flowing along the previous line in wafer-thin distance.

Du Jie’s decision to change, after her first few paintings (2002), from oil to water-soluble acrylics was a consequential one in more than one respect: from the point of view of her working technique, the reason was primarily the more liquid consistency which allows the paintbrush to glide with greater ease. It was even more important to Du Jie, however, that this change combined the material with the subject of her work, for the gently curving line is indeed an obvious visualization of the ripples and waves of water. And it is not least the metaphorical density of the watery element, which plays a central role in Chinese tradition, that the artist alludes to in her paintings: water is gentle and yielding but also powerful and indispensable to life, and when given an undulating motion, it reaches an almost musical dimension.

Under heaven nothing is more soft
and yielding than water.
Yet for attacking the solid and strong,
nothing is better;
It has no equal. 1

From Brush Strokes in Indian Ink to the Never Ending Line

In the beginning of Chinese art, there was painting: the flowing Indian ink and the brush moving in masterly arcs. The fine art of calligraphy in its function as mediator of meaning as well as landscape painting with its contemplative intent left the artist plenty of leeway for individual expression, in serene grandeur or with expressive gesture. Du Jie obviously strays from these beaten tracks, turning to abstract painting. Also from the point of view of material esthetics, the reference to reality could not be pointed out more clearly. Indian ink is replaced by oils and later by acrylics, and the traditional base materials such as silk or the meters-long scrolls made of absorbent rice paper are pushed aside in favor of a small square ground canvas. A wide palette of quite fashionably garish hues does not suggest much of the black-and-white dominance in more classical pieces.

The creation process of Du Jie’s paintings has unmistakably ritual features to it. Day by day, the practice of painting for many hours provides her with a freedom that is just as productively draining as it is rewarding. While this description of the artist’s basic mental attitude could also apply to calligraphy, Du Jie emphasizes the clear-cut difference between these techniques. When painting Chinese characters the dynamic and abrupt brush stroke is a primary constituent, but she opted for a working technique that requires contemplation and continuity in unremitting transformation. She nonetheless abides by the traditional Chinese basic premise that calls for the identity of one’s art and one’s art of living.

“My father used to work in a bookstore that also sold cartoon magazines. And even as a child I started to retrace the black outer contours of the cartoon characters. My first wavy line appeared decades later, an absentminded doodling on a piece of paper that happened to be there. I felt really great at that time. The line mirrored a deep feeling of harmony and freedom inside of me, a desire for tranquillity and concentration, but also for perfection. In retrospect, that was a turning point in my life.”

Du Jie’s works are intended for close viewing, with regard to the small formats she chooses and also to the esthetics of her paintings. The reason is that when seen from a distance, the blank spaces in the painting tend to blur, i.e., the still visible canvas ground and the line formations applied to it melt into a seemingly monochrome surface. So here art decelerates the heart rate, practically commanding our look at it to slow down.

“What made me choose this small format was the Beijing exhibition Prayer Beads and Brush Strokes in 2003, where I took part in. I wanted the people to walk up closely to my works, so that the moving line would also move something in them. What’s more, my artistic activity is part of my daily life. I paint at home, not in a separate studio. Meanwhile, the technique is so familiar to me that it hardly takes any effort any more. I can let my thoughts ramble freely. Painting always puts me into a lighter mood. When a piece is finished, when the starting and ending points of the painted line get joined at last, it also means a leave-taking. I then intuitively decide for a new constellation of colors and take on the next painting.”

Line of Life—Line of Beauty

If one were to represent the concept of movement with a single brush stroke, a curved line would be the perfect visualization. In the Chinese symbol for yin and yang as well, it is the swung line bulging to both sides that divides the circle halves and at the same time shows that there is a constant circulation between both poles. “Yang, as the active force, and yin, as receptive softness, govern the multiple vital breaths by their interaction” 2 —this is how thinker and calligrapher François Cheng, who lives in France, puts into words a basic element of Chinese philosophy.1 Everything moves and is supposed to remain in movement, and in this sense any form of ossification or unidimensional commitment can only be regarded as a loss. This dynamic view of the world is already introduced by the Chinese myth of cosmic creation by virtue of a metaphysical breath. Du Jie’s never-endingly curving line thus turns into an associative and at the same time most appropriate implementation of eternal becoming, into that breath coalesced to a line. Apart from the obvious water metaphors there are also the bends and turns of Du Jie’s line crowding each other in an almost amoeba-like scramble, all of which makes you think of a look through a microscope. Any attempt to follow the course of these gyrations invariably causes the background and the lines to flicker and merge. The paintings become the images of the potentially possible, of a life the actual manifestation of which has not yet been decided on.

While in the Chinese perception it is an ethereal breath that is at the beginning of all things, penetrating heaven, earth and also mankind in the same way, the Christian act of creation looks more like the rather burdensome chore of an almighty and personalized God. This is the origin of thinking in causalities and dualisms (God versus man) by which not least Western esthetics are characterized in their quest for unequivocal categories and universal statements. In the dispute about good taste that erupted in the 18th century in Europe, the curved line was used as an example par excellence for the position that beauty could indeed be a definable entity. British satirical painter and engraver William Hogarth’s treatise The Analysis of Beauty (1753), the title page of which is graced by a serpentine line—quite similar to the one in the yin-yang symbol—stirred a heated discussion also among German classicists and romanticists about the question if there existed a canon of beauty that was beyond specific epochs and cultures, and what it might consist in. The arguments offered in favor of the serpentine, or doubly arched, line were somewhat lacking in originality: the German art historian and archaeologist Johann Joachim Winckelmann reverts to the ocean metaphor, familiar across many cultures; Goethe and Schiller emphasize the concepts of regularity and symmetry and therefore settle for a particular shape of the line; while Hogarth himself is chiefly interested in putting the accent on changeability and the gradual modification of shapes.

In a number of his writings, whether they were fictional texts, essays on mental health or literary treatises, German psychologist, esthetician and writer Karl Philipp Moritz reexamines the almost inexhaustible dimensions of meaning of the serpentine line, going as far as attaching cosmological significance to it. In this dynamic view that interconnects all spheres of human being, he comes close to the Chinese philosopher Laotse (3rd‑4th century BC). What Moritz writes in one of his main essays on the subject under the title The Metaphysical Line of Beauty (1793) on the relationship between man and creation, the artist and his art, art and the beholder, is in so many words the same attitude that was also phrased in art theory texts written in classical China. Thus Moritz holds in his essay that for the true artist, the creation that he wants to bring forth must first have matured in his soul, as it were. And Su Dongpo (1036-1101), one of the most famous writers and poets of the Song dynasty, is said to have stated, “Before painting a bamboo, the bamboo must first grow in your innermost self.” 3.

That Moritz’s “line of beauty”, when visualized, would naturally be one that is endless and not predetermined in shape is a matter of course.

Empty and Full

The mutual relativity of emptiness and abundance that has determined Chinese cosmology, philosophy, ethics, calligraphy and visual arts for thousands of years is emphatically present in Du Jie’s work. For while from the Western perspective, the category of emptiness indicates first of all a deficit, i.e., the lack of something, in the Chinese tradition of thought “emptiness” (Chinese: kong) has entirely positive connotations. Nowhere is this as evident as in Laotse’s Tao te king. The most well-known quotation on the fundamental meaning—that precedes life itself—of emptiness is Laotse’s simile of the cartwheel:

Thirty spokes share the wheel’s hub;
It is the center hole that makes it useful.
Shape clay into a vessel;
It is the space within that makes it useful.
Cut doors and windows for a room;
It is the holes which make it useful. 4

In this sense, emptiness holds the greatest fullness, and absence of shape the greatest potential.

Du Jie’s paintings reproduce the qualitative leap indicated by this, becoming the formal-esthetic implementation of the empty/full dynamics. For what else happens during the painting process but that the trace of the brush fills an empty face with linear shapes? This is particularly visible in her first works which were still in larger formats. Owing to the material used—then still oils—her piece 2002.6 - 2002.8, for instance, develops much more clearly contoured bright patches (blank spots) than the later works done in acrylics. It is just this alternative of positive/negative inversion (white on black) which makes us entirely comprehend the fascination that lies in this almost unpredictable formation of shapes and patterns during the creative act. Sometimes elongated for considerable stretches, then again small and almost timidly curled, the wavy lines produce two-dimensional forms that are reminiscent of Keith Haring’s contour figures, and Du Jie’s story about having retraced the outlines of cartoon characters comes to mind. Only this time the figurations that develop are left to chance, the flow of the brushstroke can take its own path. And the longer the eye is allowed to follow the line, the more one is tempted to hum a melody. The line thus becomes a visible rhythm, sometimes picking up speed, sometimes losing some, to then abide by a drawn-out tone, and so on.

“Emptiness is necessary for the harmonious functioning of the yin-yang pair; it attracts the two vital breaths and draws them into the process of reciprocal becoming. Without it, yin and yang would be in a relationship of frozen opposition. They would remain static substances and be formless.” 5

Du Jie makes life-time visible as time that one has to some make use of. The potential of life, the emptiness, mutates into concrete everyday activities. This process of “filling”, all the while leaving plenty of individual choices, is also a loss in possibilities. Each decision taken dismisses all the options left unchosen. But he who does not choose at all surrenders to manipulation by extraneous powers. In Du Jie’s paintings, emptiness is nullified to a very large extent. In an almost radical way, her lines press against those already painted, conquering the space stroke by stroke, even beyond the canvas surface. There is no place for heteronomy here, not even by a doctrine requesting modesty or even self-abandonment. The artist and her art make a plea for individual freedom that is as expansive as it is quiet, powerful but at the same time judicious. In this tightrope act of hers, Du Jie never loses sight of tradition and the inherent potential of her own culture.

Borrowed Eyes

What is art? A confrontation with Du Jie’s work invariably begs that question—not that any answers are provided, of course. In their stylistic perfection, her line labyrinths fend off the suspicion of arbitrariness quite convincingly, though evading one-dimensional interpretation. The—willing—viewer is moved without the artist giving the direction. Beyond any doubt, however, Du Jie’s paintings will take Western beholders, whose visual tradition has been shaped by minimalism, to different conclusions than Chinese ones. Therefore these works certainly have one thing to offer: they invite us to face them at least twice—once with our own eyes and a second time with those of another culture.


1 English, J., Gia-Fu Feng (1972). Tao Te Ching. New York: Vintage Books.
2 Cheng, F., (1994). Empty and Full. The Language of Chinese Painting. Boston London: Shambala.
3 Young-Hae, K., Costantini, M. (1997). For a transcultural theory of iconic creation. In: Semiotics Around the World: Synthesis in Diversity (Rauch, I., Carr, G. F., eds.). Berlin New York: Walter de Gruyter Publishers. p. 289.
4 English, Gia-Fu Feng 1972 (see note 1).
5 Cheng 1994 (see note 2).

I want to thank Du Jie for the invitation to write a text about her artwork, and Su Wei for his sensitive and dedicated efforts as a translator and adviser.

Translation: Werner Richter

Du Jie | Die unendliche Linie ( en | cn )

Galerie Urs Meile Beijing - Lucerne, 2008-01-26 - 2008-03-29

„Die feine Spitze des Pinsels ist in Farbe getaucht. In leichten Schwüngen bewege ich den Pinsel, lasse ihn über die Leinwand gleiten, ohne Eile, ohne Zögern.“ (Du Jie)

Labyrinthisch verschlungen bahnen sich die Liniengeflechte der in Peking lebenden Künstlerin Du Jie (geboren 1968 in Xiangfan, Provinz Hubei) ihren Weg über die Leinwand. Beim genauen Hinschauen werden die neuen Ansätze des Pinsels erkennbar, verfolgen wir, wie die Linie farbsatt beginnt, schwächer wird, wieder ansetzt usw. Scheinbar ohne große Anstrengung findet der Farbfluss zum Anfangspunkt des Malprozesses zurück. Unendlich setzt sich nun die Wellenbewegung fort.

Gleich Tagebuch-Sequenzen bezeugen Du Jies Bildtitel den Zeitraum ihrer Entstehung. Mal sind es drei Wochen, mal vier, in denen die Künstlerin seit 2003 Windung um Windung die 25 x 25cm großen Bildflächen gestaltet. Ob in Schwarz auf weißem Grund, in hellerem und dunklerem Blau, Erdtönen oder in frühlingshaft-beschwingten Farben, immer ist es der mit äußerster Präzision geführte Pinselstrich, der in hauchfeiner Distanz zur vorherigen Linie den neuen Schwung entlang fließen lässt.

Dass Du Jie nach den ersten Bildern in Öl (2002) zur wasserlöslichen Acryl-Farbe wechselte, ist schlüssige Konsequenz gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht. Arbeitstechnisch bedingt war es zunächst einmal die flüssigere Konsistenz, die ein unbeschwerteres Gleiten des Pinsels ermöglicht. Wichtiger ist der Künstlerin aber, dass durch diesen Schritt Werkstoff und Werkthema ineinander fallen; visualisiert die geschwungene Linie doch naheliegender Weise den Wellengang des Wassers. Nicht zuletzt ist es die metaphorische Dichte des in der chinesischen Tradition zentralen Elementes „Wasser“, die Du Jie in ihren Bildern anklingen lässt: das Wasser ist anschmiegsam und weich, aber auch kraftvoll und lebensnotwendig, in Wellenbewegung versetzt, erlangt es eine nahezu musikalische Dimension.

„Auf der ganzen Welt gibt es
nichts Weicheres als das Wasser.
Und doch in der Art, wie es dem Harten zusetzt,
kommt nichts ihm gleich.“ 1

Vom Tuschestrich zur unendlichen Linie

Am Anfang der chinesischen Kunst steht die Malerei, der Fluss der Tusche, der sich in meisterlichen Schwüngen bewegende Pinsel. Sowohl die Hochkultur der Kalligrafie in ihrer Sinn vermittelnden Funktion, als auch die Landschaftsmalerei mit ihrer kontemplativen Intention ließen dem Schöpfer den Freiraum zum individuellen Ausdruck, zur gelassenen Größe oder zur expressiven Geste. Augenscheinlich verlässt Du Jie diese Fährten und arbeitet abstrakt. Auch materialästhetisch könnte der Gegenwartsbezug nicht klarer markiert werden. An die Stelle von Tusche tritt Öl- und später Acryl-Farbe, der traditionelle Malgrund aus Seide oder die meterlangen Bildrollen aus saugfähigem Reispapier werden zugunsten einer kleinen quadratischen und grundierten Leinwand verabschiedet. Eine breite Farbpalette mit durchaus modisch leuchtenden Tönen lässt keinen Gedanken an die Schwarz-Weiß-Dominanz klassischer Werke aufkommen.

Der Entstehungsprozess von Du Jies Bildern hat deutlich rituellen Charakter. Tag für Tag wird ihr der Stunden lange Malvorgang zum produktiv-entleerenden und gleichzeitig erfüllenden Freiraum. Könnte diese Beschreibung der mentalen künstlerischen Grundhaltung durchaus auch auf die Kalligrafie zutreffen, so betont Du Jie die eindeutige Differenz beider Techniken. Während für das Malen chinesischer Schriftzeichen ein spannungsreicher und abrupt vom Blatt gezogener Pinselstrich konstitutiv ist, entschied sie sich für eine Linienführung, die Kontinuität und Kontemplation in ihrer ungebrochenen Prozesshaftigkeit fordert. Einer traditionell chinesischen Grundprämisse bleibt Du Jie treu: der Identität von Kunst und Lebenskunst.

„Mein Vater arbeitete früher in einem Buchladen, in dem auch Comic-Hefte verkauft wurden. Ich habe schon als Kind angefangen, die schwarzen Außenkonturen der Figuren nachzuzeichnen. Die erste Wellenlinie entstand Jahrzehnte später als gedankenlose Kritzelei auf einem Papier, das zufällig vor mir lag. Mir ging es sehr gut in dieser Zeit. Die Linie entsprach einem tiefen Gefühl von Harmonie und Freiheit in mir, einem Wunsch nach Ruhe und Konzentration, aber eben auch Perfektion. Rückblickend betrachtet war das ein Wendepunkt in meinem Leben.“

Du Jies Bilder sind auf Nah-Sicht angelegt was sowohl das gewählte Kleinformat, als auch die Bildästhetik angeht. Denn: Aus einiger Entfernung betrachtet verschwimmen die Leerstellen des Bildes, d. h. der sichtbar gebliebene Bilduntergrund und die darauf angelegten Linienformationen werden zur scheinbar monochromen Fläche. Hier drosselt Kunst die Pulsfrequenz und fordert geradezu eine Verlangsamung des Blicks.

„Ausschlaggebend für die Formatwahl war die Pekinger Ausstellung Prayer Beads and Brush Strokes 2003, an der ich teilnahm. Ich wollte, dass die Leute nah an meine Bilder herantreten, dass die sich bewegende Linie auch etwas in ihnen bewegt. Außerdem ist meine künstlerische Arbeit Teil meines täglichen Lebens. Ich male zu Hause, nicht in einem gesonderten Atelier. Mittlerweile ist mir die Maltechnik so vertraut, dass sie mich kaum mehr Anstrengung kostet. Ich kann meine Gedanken schweifen lassen. Das Malen stimmt mich beschwingt. Wenn ein Bild fertig ist und Anfangs- und Endpunkt zusammenfließen, ist das auch ein Abschied. Intuitiv entscheide ich mich dann für eine neue Farbkonstellation und beginne das nächste Bild.“

Linie des Lebens – Linie der Schönheit

Würde man in einem einzigen Pinselstrich den Begriff der Bewegung darstellen wollen, eine geschwungene Linie wäre die perfekte Visualisierung. Auch im chinesischen Symbol von Yin und Yang ist es die beidseitig ausholende Linie, die beide Hälften des Kreises unterteilt und gleichzeitig verdeutlicht, dass es ein ständiges Zirkulieren zwischen beiden Polen gibt. „Das Yang, als aktive Kraft, und das Yin, als empfangende Sanftheit, regeln durch ihre Wechselwirkung die Erscheinungsformen des Lebensatems“ 2, formuliert der in Frankreich lebende Schriftsteller, Philosoph und Kalligraph François Cheng eine Grundkonstituente chinesischer Lebensphilosophie. Alles ist in Bewegung, soll in Bewegung bleiben, jede Form der Erstarrung oder eindimensionalen Festlegung kann in diesem Sinne nur als Verlust gewertet werden. Bereits der chinesische Mythos von der Entstehung des Kosmos durch einen metaphysischen Hauch fundiert dieses dynamische Weltverständnis. Du Jies sich unendlich schwingende Linie wird in diesem Sinne zu einer assoziativen und gleichzeitig höchst treffenden Umsetzung ewigen Werdens, zum zur Linie geronnenen Atem. Neben der naheliegenden Wassermetaphorik sind es zudem die gleichsam amöbenhaft aneinander gedrängten Schlenker der Strichführung, die an einen Blick durchs Mikroskop denken lassen. Bei dem Versuch, den Windungen in ihrem Verlauf zu folgen, stellt sich unweigerlich ein Flirren von Bildhintergrund und Linie ein. Die Bilder werden zum Abbild des potentiell Möglichen, des in seiner Erscheinungsform aber noch nicht festgelegten Lebens.

Ist es in der chinesischen Vorstellung ein sphärischer Hauch, der am Anfang aller Dinge steht, der Himmel, Erde und auch den Menschen gleichermaßen durchdringt, so stellt sich im Christentum der Schöpfungsakt doch eher als mühevolle Arbeit eines allmächtigen und personal gedachten Gottes dar. Ein Denken in Kausalzusammenhängen und Dualismen (Gott versus Mensch) ist hier bereits angelegt, das nicht zuletzt auch die westliche Ästhetik in ihrer Suche nach eindeutigen Kategorien und allgemeingültigen Aussagen prägt. Im Streit über den guten Geschmack im Europa des 18. Jahrhunderts wird die geschwungene Linie zum Exempel par excellence dafür, dass Schönheit durchaus eine bestimmbare Größe ist. Die Streitschrift Analysis of Beauty (1753) des englischen Karikaturisten William Hogarth, dessen Titelseite eine zweifach geschwungene Linie schmückt – ähnlich der des Symbols für Yin-Yang –, entfachte auch unter deutschen Klassizisten und Romantikern eine heftige Diskussion darüber, ob und inwiefern es einen Zeiten und Kulturen übergreifenden Formenkanon des Schönen gibt. Die Argumente für die geschwungene Linie bzw. Wellenlinie sind wenig originell. Der Altertumswissenschaftler Johann Joachim Winckelmann greift auf die interkulturell vertraute Meeresmetaphorik zurück, Goethe und Schiller betonen die Regelmäßigkeit und Symmetrie und legen sich deshalb auf eine bestimmte Form der Linie fest. Hogarth selber geht es vor allem um die Betonung des Wechselhaften und der sich allmählich ändernden Formen.

Der Psychologe, Ästhetiker und Schriftsteller Karl Philipp Moritz greift in verschiedenen Schriften, ob Prosa, Seelenheilkunde oder ästhetische Abhandlung, auf die nahezu unerschöpflichen Bedeutungsdimensionen der geschwungenen Linie zurück und geht so weit, ihr eine kosmologische Aussagekraft zuzuschreiben. In dieser dynamischen und alle Sphären des menschlichen Seins miteinander verbindenden Sichtweise kommt er dem chinesischen Gelehrten Laotse (3. bzw. 4. Jhd. v. Chr.) sehr nahe. Was Moritz in seiner essayistischen Hauptschrift zu diesem Thema unter dem Titel Die Metaphysische Schönheitslinie (1753) zum Verhältnis von Mensch und Schöpfung, Künstler und Kunstwerk, Kunstwerk und Betrachter sagt, beschreibt in knappen Worten eine Haltung, die so auch in den kunsttheoretischen Zeugnissen des klassischen China formuliert wird. So heißt es bei Moritz: „Bei dem wahren Künstler muss das Kunstwerk, was er hervorbringen will, gleichsam in der Seele reif geworden sein.“ 3. Von Su Dongpo (1036-1101), einem der bekanntesten Literaten und Dichter der Song-Dynastie, ist der Ausspruch überliefert: „Bevor Ihr einen Bambus malt, muss er erst in Eurem Innersten sprießen.“ 4.

Dass die Moritzsche „Schönheitslinie“ bei ihrer Visualisierung naturgemäß eine unendliche und in ihrer Form nicht festgelegte sein würde, steht außer Frage.

Leere und Fülle

Die wechselseitige Bedingtheit von Leere und Fülle, die sowohl die chinesische Kosmologie, Philosophie, Ethik, Kalligrafie und die bildende Kunst seit Jahrtausenden bestimmt, scheint in Du Jies Arbeiten nachdrücklich auf. Bezeichnet die Kategorie der Leere aus westlicher Perspektive in erster Linie einen Mangel und das Fehlen von etwas, so ist Leere (chin. kong) in der chinesischen Denktradition durchgängig positiv konnotiert. Nirgends wird dies deutlicher als in Laotses Tao te king. Das bekannteste Zitat zur fundamentalen und allem Sein vorgängigen Bedeutung der Leere ist Laotses Gleichnis vom Wagenrad:

„Dreißig Speichen um eine Nabe!
Und doch ist die leere Nabe das Wesen des Rades. 
Ton, der auf einer Töpferscheibe gedreht wurde!
Und doch ist das leere Innere das Wesen des Kruges. 
Wände, durch die Türen und Fenster gebrochen werden!
Und doch ist der leere Raum das Wesen des Hauses.“ 5

In diesem Sinne liegt in der Leere die größte Fülle, in der Formlosigkeit das größte Potential.

Du Jies Bilder schreiben den hier angelegten qualitativen Sprung nach, werden zur formalästhetische Umsetzung der Leere-Fülle-Dynamik. Denn was passiert bei ihrem Malvorgang anderes, als dass die Spur des Pinsels eine leere Fläche mit Liniengebilden füllt? Besonders deutlich wird dieser Prozess bei den ersten und noch großformatiger angelegten Werken. Materialbedingt, da noch in Öl, entstehen z. B. in der Weiß auf schwarzem Grund gehaltenen Arbeit 2002.6 - 2002.8 wesentlich klarer konturierte Freiräume (Leer-Stellen), als in den späteren und in Acryl gemalten. Gerade diese Variante der Positiv-Negativ-Verkehrung (Weiß auf Schwarz) lässt den Reiz der nahezu unberechenbaren Kreation von Formen während des künstlerischen Schaffensaktes gut nachvollziehen. Streckenweise länger gedehnte und dann wieder klein und fast ängstlich gekräuselte Wellenlinien schaffen flächige Gestalten, die an Konturlinien-Figuren von Keith Haring denken lassen. Du Jies Erzählung vom Nachzeichnen der Comic-Umrisse aus Kindertagen kommt in Erinnerung. Nur sind die entstehenden Figurationen diesmal dem Zufall anheim gegeben, dem Strichfluss wird die Wegwahl freigestellt. Um so länger man das Auge der Linie folgen lässt, desto stärker verführt es zum Summen einer Melodie. Die Linie wird zum sichtbaren Rhythmus, dessen Tempo mal schneller wird, mal langsamer, um dann bei einem gedehnten Ton zu verweilen usw.

„Für die harmonische Tätigkeit des Paares Yin-Yang ist die Leere unverzichtbar: sie ist es, die die Aspekte des Lebensatems in den Prozess des wechselseitigen Werdens hineinzieht. Ohne sie verharrten Yin und Yang in einem erstarrten Gegensatzverhältnis, blieben beide statische Substanzen, ganz so, als seinen sie formlos.“ 6

Lebenszeit als vom einzelnen zu nutzende Zeit wird von Du Jie als vergehende Zeit sichtbar gemacht. Das Potential des Lebens, die Leere, wandelt sich zum konkret gestalteten Lebensalltag. Dieser Prozess des „Füllens“ ist bei aller individuellen Gestaltungsfreiheit auch ein Verlust an Möglichkeiten. Jede gefällte Entscheidung verabschiedet die nicht gewählten Optionen. Doch wer nicht wählt, überlässt sich der Manipulation durch äußere Wirkmächte. In Du Jies Bildern wird Leere weitestgehend aufgehoben. Geradezu radikal anmutend drängen sich die Linen an die bereits vorhandenen, erobern Schwung um Schwung die Fläche, noch über den Rand der Leinwand hinaus. Einer Fremdbestimmung, sei es durch eine zur Bescheidenheit oder gar Selbstaufgabe auffordernden Doktrin wird hier der Zugriff verweigert. Die Künstlerin und ihr Kunstschaffen sind raumgreifendes und doch stilles, kraftvolles und gleichzeitig besonnenes Plädoyer für die individuelle Freiheit. Die Tradition und das Vermögen ihrer eigenen Kultur verliert Du Jie bei diesem Drahtseilakt nie aus den Augen.

Geliehene Augen

Was ist Kunst? Diese Frage stellt sich im Gegenüber mit Du Jies Arbeiten unweigerlich, ohne darauf freilich eine Antwort zu geben. In ihrer stilistischen Perfektion wehren die Linien-Labyrinthe den Verdacht der Beliebigkeit überzeugend ab, entziehen sich aber der eindimensionalen Deutung. Der Betrachter wird – so er denn will – bewegt, ohne dass die Künstlerin hierbei eine Richtung vorgeben würde. Unzweifelhaft hingegen, veranlassen Du Jies Bilder einen westlicher Betrachter, mit einer vom Minimalismus geprägten Sehtradition, zu anderen Schlüssen, als einen chinesischen. Ein Angebot also, das diese Werke machen, dürfte demnach sicher sein: Sie laden dazu ein, sich ihnen zumindest zweimal zuzuwenden, einmal mit den eigenen und ein weiteres Mal mit den Augen einer anderen Kultur.


1 Laotse: Tao te king. Das Buch des Alten vom Sinn und Leben. Aus dem Chinesischen und erläutert von Richard Wilhelm, Piper Verlag: München 2005, S. 233
2 François Cheng: Fülle und Leere. Die Sprache der chinesischen Malerei. Aus dem Französischen von Joachim Kurtz, Merve Verlag: Berlin 2004, S. 66
3 Karl Philipp Moritz: Die Metaphysische Schönheitslinie, in: Schriften zur Ästhetik und Poetik. Kritische Ausgabe (Neudrucke deutscher Literaturwerke; N.F. 7), hg. v. Hans Joachim Schrimpf, Max Niemeyer Verlag Tübingen 1962, S. 151
4 François Cheng: Fülle und Leere, S. 27
5 Laotse: Tao te king. Das Buch des Alten vom Sinn und Leben, S. 97
6 François Cheng: Fülle und Leere, S.67

Ich danke Du Jie für die Einladung, einen Text zu Ihren Bildern zu schreiben und Su Wei für seine einfühlsame und engagierte Übersetzer- und Beratertätigkeit.