Chen Xiaoyun. Walking over Branches and Sensing Time ( de )

IN-SIGHT. Photography from the Wemhöner Collection, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

If, for a moment, we let our imagination direct our will, and also accept that not even our own deaths have any long-term significance, then a falling branch becomes the source of a personal language. Inspired by the experimental art scene in Hangzhou, to the south-west of Shanghai, and by the Chinese video artists working there, Chen Xiaoyun (b. 1971) dropped out of his painting degree to work in the medium of film. He now lives in Beijing. His videos and his staged photographic works examine both metaphorical images and the emotional power of poetry.

By the end of the 1980s, Hangzhou had acquired special status in Chinese video art history. At that time the avant-garde artist Zhang Peili was presenting the absurdity of political authority in his videos, by, for example, repeatedly catching hold of a chicken, washing it, and then letting it go again (Hygiene No. 3, 1991).

Post-Mao-era artists like Yang Fudong, Qiu Zhijie and Yang Zhenzhong made reference to this tradition through their use of media and, of their own accord, they organised the first video art exhibitions, also in Hangzhou. In 1996 the 1st China Video Art was presented; this was also an inspiration for Chen Xiaoyun, and it led to his purchase of a video camera. In his short films and photographs, instead of directly criticising the contemporary political situation, he focuses on the aspect of self-reflection; this, however, in no way excludes the portrayal of social and political disparities.

Dried-out branches appear repeatedly in the scenes Chen Xiaoyun stages with his friends. In an interview he explains that this has a personal context: ‘In late autumn and winter I walk over branches that have fallen from trees every day, sensing their existence. By placing these in very diverse contexts, a kind of narrative Ariadne’s thread is developed. The branches become a language, the language of things.’ This ‘language of things’ enters into a dialogical interaction with the titles of Chen Xiaoyun’s works.

The photograph Give My Future to a Snake (2012), for example, makes a visual link to the experiences described by the artist. We see feet from the calves down, carefully feeling their way over a bough with many branches. The title, for its part, transposes this practical act onto a level that is wide open both philosophically and metaphorically. ‘I associate the last stage of life with a dried-out branch,’ continues the artist. ‘At the same time, it is not until this moment that the branch attains its independence from the tree.’

Chen Xiaoyun’s intensive processing of the phenomenon of ‘time’ finds its expression in Give My Future to a Snake and other works. The artist goes on to say that he is especially interested in non-linear narrative structures and the interweaving of diverse temporal levels. From a style perspective, he says, the aphorisms of Chinese classic writers provided him with inspiration; when it comes to theory, he is more focused on Western authors, and books like Being and Time by Martin Heidegger, The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa, Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut and Cool Memories by Jean Baudrillard. The proximity to the fragmentary, associative language of Pessoa’s ‘accidental book of my ponderings’ – as the Portuguese author described his major work – is evident in titles such as It’s like Wandering in a Virtual Sense and Moving in Conceptual Barycentre, He Says a Short Trip in Fantasy Let Volitive Concession Lose a Moment of Calmness (2012). Even the original Chinese titles do not offer any clarification or contribute to understanding. Thus viewers of the corresponding photograph are sent on a journey into the realm of their own imaginative power, towards a contemplative oscillation between image and text. The artist has not defined where the centre of gravity of this rotating entity lies.

The photographs taken at the beginning of 2012 are being presented for the first time by Chen Xiaoyun in the solo exhibition ‘Zhuiku Tablet’ Annotations (ShanghART Gallery, Peking, 25 March – 2 May 2012). The artist explains that these are based on a fictitious text he has written: ‘I am trying to appropriate the expressive logic of classic Chinese literature here. The photographs themselves function as visual written characters. When an image is finished, its title becomes a footnote.’ It is hard to accept that not even one’s own death is worth being remembered: a harsh reality transposed by Chen Xiaoyun into a simple gesture, as he bends the dried-out branch until it breaks into pieces (Time Offers a Travel, You Become a Killer on the Road, No Death in Any Form Is Memorable, 2012).


IN-SIGHT. Photography from the Wemhöner Collection, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Chen Xiaoyun. Über Äste laufen und die Zeit erspüren ( en )

IM BLICK. Fotografie aus der Sammlung Wemhöner, Kerber Verlag 2012-10

Wenn für einen Moment die Imagination den Willen bestimmt und wir erkennen, dass nicht einmal unser Tod von nachhaltiger Bedeutung ist, dann wird ein herabfallender Ast zum Auftrag an die eigene Sprache. Inspiriert durch die experimentelle Kunstszene im südwestlich von Shanghai gelegenen Hangzhou und den dort agierenden chinesischen Videokünstlern, bricht Chen Xiaoyun (*1971) sein Malereistudium ab, um von nun an ebenfalls im Medium Film zu arbeiten. Mittlerweile lebt er in Peking. Seine Videos und inszenierten Fotoarbeiten setzen sowohl auf metaphorisch aufgeladene Bilder als auch auf die Wirkmacht der Poesie.

In der Geschichte der chinesischen Videokunst nimmt Hangzhou bereits Ende der 1980er-Jahre eine Sonderstellung ein. Damals führt der Avantgardekünstler Zhang Peili in seinen Videos beispielsweise die Absurdität politischer Autorität vor Augen, indem er ein Huhn wiederholt einfängt, waschen und wieder laufen lässt (Hygiene No. 3, 1991).

Die Künstler der Post-Mao-Ära wie Yang Fudong, Qiu Zhijie und Yang Zhenzhong knüpfen medial an diese Tradition an und organisieren in Eigenregie – ebenfalls in Hangzhou – die ersten Ausstellungen zur Videokunst. So folgt etwa 1996 die 1st China Video Art, die auch Chen Xiaoyun begeistert und zum Kauf einer Videokamera animiert. An die Stelle offensichtlicher Kritik an den gegenwärtigen politischen Verhältnissen tritt in seinen Kurzfilmen und Fotografien der Aspekt der Selbstreflexion, was das Aufzeigen gesellschaftspolitischer Missverhältnisse aber keinesfalls ausschließt.

Dass wiederholt trockenes Geäst in seinen mit Freunden umgesetzten Szenen auftaucht, habe einen persönlichen Grund, erzählt der Künstler im Interview: „Im Spätherbst und Winter laufe ich jeden Tag über die von den Bäumen herabgefallenen Äste und fühle ihre Existenz. Indem ich sie in den unterschiedlichsten Kontexten einsetze, bilden sie eine Art narrativen roten Faden. Die Äste werden zur Sprache, einer Sprache der Dinge.“ Diese „Sprache der Dinge“ tritt in eine dialogische Wechselwirkung mit Chen Xiaoyuns Werktiteln.

Visuell konkret knüpft z. B. die Fotografie Give my Future to a Snake (2012) an das zuvor beschriebene Erlebnis an. Von der Wade abwärts sehen wir Füße, die bedachtsam einen verzweigten Ast abtasten. Der Titel hingegen überführt diese faktische Handlung auf eine lebensphilosophische und metaphorisch offene Ebene. „Mit einem trockenen Ast assoziiere ich das Leben in seinem letzten Stadium. Gleichzeitig erlangt der Ast erst in diesem Moment seine Unabhängigkeit vom Baum“, so der Künstler.

In Give My Future to a Snake und anderen Arbeiten findet Chen Xiaoyuns intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Phänomen „Zeit“ ihren Niederschlag. Ja, insbesondere nicht-lineare Erzählstrukturen und das Ineinanderblenden verschiedener Zeitebenen interessierten ihn, betont er. In stilistischer Hinsicht seien es die Aphorismen chinesischer Klassiker, an denen er sich orientiere, in theoretischer eher westliche Autoren und Bücher wie etwa Martin Heideggers Sein und Zeit, Fernando Pessoas Das Buch der Unruhe des Hilfsbuchhalters Bernardo Soares, Kurt Vonneguts Zeitbeben und Jean Baudrillards Cool Memories. Die Nähe zur fragmentarisch assoziativen Sprache von Pessoas Zufallsbuch meines Nachsinnens – wie der portugiesische Autor selbst sein Hauptwerk nannte – wird bei Titeln wie It’s like Wandering in a Virtual Sense and Moving in Conceptual Barycentre, He Says a Short Trip in Fantasy Let Volitive Concession Lose a Moment of Calmness (2012) deutlich. Auch der chinesische Originaltitel bietet keine zusätzlichen Anhaltspunkte zum Verständnis. Und so wird der Betrachter der dazugehörigen Fotografie im nachsinnenden Schwenk zwischen Bild und Text auf eine Reise ins Reich der eigenen Vorstellungskraft geschickt. Was dort Schwerezentrum und um dieses kreisender Körper ist, wird nicht vom Künstler definiert.

Die Anfang 2012 entstandenen Fotos zeigt Chen Xiaoyun erstmalig in der Einzelausstellung „Zhuiku Tablet“ Annotations (Aufzeichnungen der gefallenen Äste, ShanghART Gallery, Peking, 25. März bis 2. Mai 2012). Grundlage sei ein von ihm erfundener Text, erklärt der Künstler. „Ich versuche darin, mir die Ausdruckslogik der klassischen chinesischen Literatur anzueignen. Die Fotos selbst haben den Status visueller Schriftzeichen. Wenn ein Bild fertig ist, werden die Titel zu Anmerkungen.“ Wie schwer der Gedanke auszuhalten ist, dass nicht einmal der eigene Tod es wert ist, erinnert zu werden, überführt Chen Xiaoyun in eine einfache Geste: Er biegt den trockenen Ast, bis er splitternd bricht (Time Offers a Travel, You Become a Killer on the Road, No Death in Any Form Is Memorable, 2012).


IM BLICK. Fotografie aus der Sammlung Wemhöner, Kerber Verlag 2012-10